Happy 9 years Daria

IMG_0137 IMG_0138

I am deeply and richly blessed to be this child’s mom.

I am so proud of all she is, all she is becoming, and how she navigates and responds to her world.

“That’s a nice birthday present” she said as I rubbed her feet/legs just before she fell asleep for her last night as an 8 year old.

Yup, 9 years ago right now I was labouring. At home. Hoping for a home birth.

It would be a long night, and Daria would join us in the world at 6:30am.

I would not change a thing.

IMG_0135 IMG_0132

I love all the mess, and all the joy this child brings to my life.

She has taught me much in her 9 short years. More than I could have imagined or dreamed of.

And today we celebrated as a family with simplicity.

The simple rhythm of dancing with other adults and children, 5 rhythms, at my favourite community space The Hub.

A stop at “The Garage” for some simple food. A nap.

Simple “upcycled” gifts from her siblings.

IMG_0109 IMG_0123

And, yup, a birthday scavenger hunt, that unveiled a dream she’s had for 2 years running…

My water girl. My soulful girl. My girl who is perfect in every way.

Happy 9th birthday, Daria. I am astounded at your gratitude and appreciation of each moment.

She prepared these thank you cards yesterday…

IMG_0142

Even on her own birthday, thinking of others, and sharing gratitude.

We love you Daria!!! We are all so blessed to be your family.

IMG_0127

Leave a Reply

