While Mom is away…

For 7 of the last 13 sleeps I have missed out on kissing sweet sleepy heads, reading Laura Ingalls Wilder cozy in our bunks, and haven’t woke up with a pile of children in my bed: IMG_4551 I’ve been away from my family more in the last 2 weeks than I have in almost 8 years! As little J’s teacher so wisely advised me: if you haven’t done this before you’ll feel yourself STRETCH across the miles… Indeed. It is hard to put into words just how it feels to leave these 3 beauties… what really made it possible to be out there learning, learning, learning, was hearing how well they were doing!! IMG_4532 IMG_4542 I am grateful they were able to “hold on” to me, even when we were physically apart… through the invisible string of love that connects us all everywhere and anywhere… And I am so grateful for all the family that visited!! Amazing timing.     IMG_4506 IMG_4517 IMG_4519  IMG_4576 It will take a while for me to feel like I’ve landed again. Traveling sure is exhausting! I’m a funny traveler now too… brought little comforts of home like favorite stuffed animals, my favorite blanket, and even my yoga bolster to snuggle up with at night. I had a great experience. Met awesome people. Was well taken care of. Enjoyed standing to watch the kettle boil. And, I am incredibly grateful to be back in the land of family, where waffles and raspberries are served for breakfast, my amazing husband and I can stare up at the stars before going off to sleep, and dozens of hugs and kisses are on my menu every day!!

One thought on “While Mom is away…

Leave a Reply

