Advent Beginnings…

IMG_3124  IMG_3131

We started off the 2nd day of Advent right with a huge delivery of our fresh RANCHO goodies! These nuts, seeds, and dried fruit have been a part of our life for many years now. The company is based in Vernon so it feels like a taste of home.

We also got dusted with SNOW! Now coming from a place that is blanketed in white for 3 months of the year, having 3 days of sub zero temperatures (keeping the dusting of white stuff we got 3 days ago!!) might seem like a drop in the bucket.

The past three days I have learned many things…

IMG_3134 IMG_3133

How much it feeds my soul to hear the crunch under my boots and see the hillsides dusted in white!

IMG_3146

How its not so important how MUCH of something one receives, but how one enjoys it… And I have been soaking it in!! The look of the white from my living room window as I do my stretching, the cool crisp air on my face, the peaceful and BRIGHT look of everything around me. It is sooooo incredibly nourishing to my soul.

I know many people here believe the snow belongs elsewhere… up on the mountains, or in another part of our province… but I LOVE a yard and streetfull of snow like nothing else. Visiting a mountain is nice… but doesn’t really compare!

IMG_3130 IMG_3129

There is always lots in life to be disappointed about, like how the “Santa suit” you wore as a babe doesn’t fit any more (this one brings great sadness to our mid-stroke!). Does anyone have a 5 yr old size Santa Suit?!?

But some things, like “growing up” and our climate, we have no control over… so, I must learn to appreciate the piece of “real winter” I get each year here!! Glory for these 3 days!!

You can take the girl out of Montreal and the Interior, but you can never take the love of that crisp, cold climate out of the girl.

(just realized I have spent 9+10=19 years in snowy lands and 17+1.5 = 18.5 years on the Coast!)

One thought on “Advent Beginnings…

Leave a Reply

