Feelin’ the Family

IMG_0047 IMG_0018

Love learning more about people… turns out, our Auntie Laura LOVES surprises… and she brought us one yesterday – herself! And our only cousin, Audrey, to be here for Daria’s birthday. These girls don’t see each other much, but man can they connect and play and run, and… see past the gap of time and distance!

IMG_0042 IMG_0046

I treasured having all 4 of our grandparents with us. Do I ever love the twinkle in their eyes when they watch and interact with their grandchildren. Maybe one day I’ll experience this special role of grandparent. There is much that can be said here… quite simply our children love being invited to be in their presence. I see the connection runs deep. I know I treasure my own grandma, who I cannot see often enough. Being invited to be with her, anywhere, doing anything, was inherently satisfying and filled my bucket. In fact the Forest Discovery Centre we went to today was reminiscent of Heritage Park, in Calgary, where Grandma and I have strolled together.

IMG_0030 IMG_0049

Food-wise Daria chose these pockets for her birthday dinner, with butternut squash soup lovingly made by Grandma Gerty. It was our first time taking a stab at these pockets and they turned out terrific thanks to my pastry-making husband… a talent he’s perfected over the years due to his love of pie! I think you could fill these delicious pockets with jam, pesto, spinach, apples and cinnamon… mmmm…. anything you love… I marked the kids with their initial.

IMG_0012 IMG_0013 IMG_0014

Filling: 1c cooked pumpkin, 1 medium onion, 3 oz cheese, salt, 1 egg – I mixed it all in the processor. The pastry is more by feel but the recipe is 2.5c flour (we used spelt), 1 stick butter, a little water, a little extra flour. You roll them out to 1/4″ thick (as thin as you can while still holding the filling), use a saucer or bowl to mark out the circles, place spoonful of filling in the middle, fold over the pastry and use a fork to press down the edges, and bake 25min at 350F. 

Leave a Reply

