Crumble and Sooke!

As our grain-free berry crumble baked for breakfast this morning, my husband threw out “let’s go to Sooke”. I told him he could get me saying yes to just about any adventure these days, so off we went. My husband was teary as we pulled in front of his Grandpa Esmond Sharpe’s house in Sooke (where he lived until the late 80s):IMG_2073

This is what days are made of. Whimsy. Feeling. Love. Memories. Beauty. We got to spend 1.5 hours exploring nature at the nearby Sooke potholes:

IMG_2051 IMG_2057

Flowing water, rocks, fresh air, woods, scrambling, and trees to climb that have been swept over by the current when the river is high:

IMG_2054 IMG_2053

On the drive down I was reading a book “Love Does” by Bob Goff. I read parts aloud to Kurt as we drove along. So many good passages in here, two of my favorites being: “there’s nothing wrong with being typical, I guess, but there is nothing fundamentally right about it either…” and “being engaged isn’t just an event that happens when a guy gets on one knee and puts a right on his true love’s finger. Being engaged is a way of doing life, a way of living and loving. It’s about going to extremes and expressing the bright hope that life offers us, a hope that makes us brave and expels darkness with light. That’s what I want my life to be about… full of abandon, whimsy, and love. I want to be engaged to life and with life”. We remember you today Grandpa Esmond Sharpe.

IMG_2071 IMG_2062

Happy Sunday Fun Day to our family and friends!

Grain Free Berry Crumble: I adapted the recipe below, and put in 1/2c cane sugar to the berries and 1/2c coconut sugar in the topping instead of the sugar substitute that is described. It was a bit too sweet for us… play around!img032 IMG_2035

Leave a Reply

