Heart Lake Trail, Ladysmith

This week is full of love. First we pulled out the bread out of the freezer that Daria had made in her class for Christmas morning. It was a lovely January breakfast treat covered in blackberries. She was all smiles having made something for her family:

IMG_1916

Next, I HIKED!!! Quite a grade, 3 hours at a good steady pace, broke a sweat. It was just AWESOME to be outdoors in my new community. I invited my friend Lesley, who craves exercise as I do, on a “Meet up” with the Cowichan Bay walking/hiking club.

IMG_1922 IMG_1923

If you haven’t ever gone on a “meet up” I think this is something everyone should try. Everyone I have met is a real genuine, connected, and unique individual. Finding the trail together, waiting for each other… It was amazing to strike out and hike with a dozen “strangers”. They set a brisk pace, a steady grunt uphill for quite a while… here is our destination:

IMG_1924 IMG_1926

Lesley and I decided as mom’s of preschoolers we would not go out every weekend and do this, as it cuts into valuable family time… but it was a FAN-tastic way to spend a cloudy January Sunday. Lesley even had me in tears retelling Skyla’s amazing birth story. Thanks Geoff and Kurt for giving us the gift of outdoor time together.

Leave a Reply

