B is for Baking

Baking is one of those arts, like going to the gym, that you can either passionately love, or just as passionately despise. I happen to LOVE it. Going to the gym is on the other side of the coin for me… though I braved a yoga class at this gym today:

IMG_0777

I feel marvelous now, just like I am sure those who despise baking feel marvelous when their baking turns out. Am I right?!?! But the whole experience I could do without. Not because I don’t love exercise.. quite the opposite! There is just a ton of other unpredictable variables. Much like baking. It is never quite the same twice. Somehow I love this when baking, and am not quite as inspired by the surprises at the gym!

My kids have developed a passion for baking:

IMG_0784 IMG_0786 IMG_0785 IMG_0789 IMG_0790

Those 3 were buns in the oven once. Couldn’t resist that analogy! One thing I am realizing, is they each treasure 1:1 time… even better if for a small, special outing. These are hard to fit in regularly… but pay off in spades. Let me show you how.

Today, was Daria’s turn. Out to the yarn shop we went after school (while the other two were napping):

IMG_0778  IMG_0780

That big smile at getting a pile of yarn (beside her) is nothing short of perfection.

p.s. in case you were worried about the nappers… Kurt’s day off today so he was home with them!

Leave a Reply

