Seasoning on the Coast… and Indulgence Cookies!

One BIG “con”  was always CLIMATE (on our list moving to the Coast). Sure Kurt and I grew up on the Coast, and are “used to” the rain… but, in all seriousness, there is a reason I have chosen to spend the last decade elsewhere! Not having to own rain gear is pretty phenomenal. But bigger than that, I absolutely LOVE the 4 seasons. In Vernon, the fluffy white snow flies perfectly for 3 months. Sure there were days I could have done without it, but overall, I treasured the endless days watching my children romp happily in the snow for hours and coming in… DRY! Not to mention the best cross country ski trails barely 30 min from my door.

One of the fears I face this year is distinguishing between the seasons and preparing to cozy into the “rain” season (as I see it) while my heart lies with the Okanagan winter. The other day my amazing friend Christina sent me this link. So, with her encouragement, I took a stab at creating my own Wheel of the Year:

IMG_0946

It is hanging in my laundry area and I hope it helps me feel grounded in the time of year in my new Coastal climate. I will try not to struggle against the things I cannot change about my new home (survival tips welcome). For now, we are enjoying a summer much like we are accustomed to… days where all you can think of is getting wet!

IMG_0958      IMG_0952

And on hot days there is really nothing better than homemade popsicles – we choose from apple juice, chocolate milk, or vanilla yogurt!! Or, if that is not enough, add fresh chocolate chip cookies which I served up at 4pm today, just for FUN! Sometimes I’ve got to break even my own rules… today was one of those days. Forget the rhythm, let it go, and enjoy a few cookies each. And put a pan of flour on the floor for the 1 year old… cuz, WHY NOT!?!?

IMG_0953     IMG_0955

The cookies added a finishing touch to our warm bread bellies. Thursdays we always start off with a morning trip to the bakery for warm cinnamon raisin spelt bread and warm spelt buns!! Oooo de la li! We made the buns into pizza buns for lunch. But the photo of those did not compare to the cookies! YUMM!

Chewy, Moist chocolate chip cookies (modified from REBAR to be less sweet & spelt): 1/2c butter, 1c coconut sugar (original is 1.5c brown sugar), 2 eggs, 2 tsp vanilla, 1/4c dried apricots, 1c whole spelt and 1c light spelt flour (original 1.5c unbleached flour), 1.5 tsp baking powder, 1/2tsp salt, 1c roasted and chopped walnuts (make sure you cool them too or they melt the chocolate), 1.5 c good quality chocolate chips (yes the original recipe says this! I get mine from Rancho Vignola). Do the usual wet and dry separate, except pulse the apricots in the food processor with the dried apricots to chop ’em easy. Mix wet and dry together, add walnuts and apricots, and chocolate chips. Bake at 350F for 10 min or so… 28 cookies! YUMM!

Leave a Reply

