Morning Sun has Risen Black Beans

I am officially a morning person. When I was little I used to get up at 5am to watch the sunrise with my Dad when camping. Once even over Lake Cowichan, really close to where we now live. My Dad is similarly a morning person. This morning before 6am I prepared my “Baja Baked Beans” (REBAR), using my last garlic clove from Farmer’s Markets last Fall in Vernon, cumin seed, cilantro, yumm!

IMG_0176 IMG_0175hi

Then I went on my morning walk. This is the 2nd time I’ve completed the 30 min loop to the ocean and back… I aim for every 2nd day. I walk downhill about 10-15 min and first glimpse of the ocean like so:

IMG_0178     IMG_0182     IMG_0183

Then before I head uphill, I peek down the strip of pubs, restaurants, bread shop, cheese shop, burger stands, kayak shops, and the like:

IMG_0184

Upon returning home I enjoyed this amazing morning sky, before returning to finish the beans, by now Stefan was awake:

IMG_0185          IMG_0188

These beans are quite involved, but I love chipotle chili which is a nice flavor in these beans which then go in the oven for an hour, so it was a good thing it was early-o-clock when I started them. Summer heat has hit! I added some banana bread, some lemon ricotta pancakes (also REBAR) and thus my kitchen was a disaster by 8am.

IMG_0191           IMG_0190

Good food makes for happy little cuties though. We had a wonderful weekend filled with yard time, kite time, ocean time, bike riding, and cuddles.

IMG_0199            IMG_0195      IMG_0214

Baja Baked Beans: start with 4c black beans, soaked overnight. Drain and put in large pot. Add 1/2 bunch cilantro (coarsely chopped), 1 tbsp cumin seed, 1 tsp chipotle chili powder (original recipe calls for 2 TBSP!!), 1 tbsp oregano, and 6 minced garlic cloves. Cover with cold water by 1 inch. Boil, reduce heat, and simmer for an hour or more until beans tender. Add 2 tsp salt in final 15 min of cooking. Add water to keep beans covered if needed. Then add in 1 tbsp chipotle chili puree (need to puree a 7oz can of chipotle chilies in adobo sauce, store this in fridge indefinitely), 1/3c brown sugar (original calls for 1/2c), and 1 can tomato paste (5.5 oz), and 1/3 c apple cider vinegar (original calls for red wine vinegar). Transfer to baking dish with lid or foil covering and bake at 350F for 1 hour. Check liquid content. If beans are still runny, leave them baking and check every 15 min until desired consistency. Big batch, but it freezes awesomely!

“Easy-peasy-lemon squeezy” as Janelle likes to say!

Leave a Reply

