Pasta Primavera

Wikipedia says this means a dish focused on pasta and vegetables, with a protein sometimes added, but the focus being the vegetables themselves.

I often find it hard to focus. I am a multi-tasker. I realize that multitasking is not always the most efficient (see the1thing.com), but I do it anyways. I think having children has made me more this way… how often do I have the luxury of focusing in on any 1 thing?? I look forward to those days. For now, I am used to flitting from one thing to the next… however, this morning, this 1 thing caught my eye in our front garden. How gorgeous!

IMG_0146

I don’t really consider myself a flower person, but I am a pasta person! In Vernon we had a family run, amazing, Italian restaurant on the same block as our house. However, I can cook a mean pasta primavera, and quick! Here’s how:

You’ll need 1 onion, 1 clove garlic, 1c carrots, 1 pepper, a couple stalks broccoli plus 1.5 c milk and 2.5 tsp cornstarch. Salt to taste.

IMG_0150

1. Chop onion, garlic fine (I use food processor)

2. Slice carrots, pepper. Take thick outer part of stalk off broccoli and compost. Chop inner stem and florets.

3. Saute in olive oil the onion and garlic. Add carrots, pepper. Last add broccoli. All to the raw side of tender crisp (NOT well done!).

4. Shake milk, cornstarch and salt in a jar and add to hot veggies in pan. It will thicken in no time.

5. Boil pasta, drain, and top with sauce. Add cheese if desired, black pepper… something like this:

IMG_0149

I imagine you can use rice or soy milk, though I haven’t done it in a while…

You can also substitute favorite vegetables of course… maybe one day we’ll harvest our bush beans and add them in! Here they are today:

IMG_0148

Leave a Reply

