Breakfast and Bathing caps

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. I start my morning off everyday with a glass of kefir (see post from Nov 2012) and multivitamin/vitamin D. I wait 1.5 hours, then it is COFFEE TIME! I love coffee. I only started my coffee habit in my 30s after moving to Vernon and working for the first time as an occupational therapist (OT)… this involved shadowing my employer (an OT) many hours a day, sometimes coupled with drives to and from Revelstoke. Out of desperation one day I mixed coffee with hot chocolate (sickly sweet) in a thermos! Over time, my new love was born.

IMG_4053 IMG_4052The folks at the Italian Grocer in Vernon gave me this new idea, for our weekend java… boil a vanilla bean in water… then use that to top up your espresso. YUMM. I am also a regular granola-maker, in fact it was the first thing I baked in my new gas range:

IMG_4126

Yesterday we enjoyed a bowl of muesli. Now THIS is a breakfast of champions. From the REBAR cookbook, sounds weird, but soak 1c of oats in water overnight. Drain, and split into 2 bowls (for you and…), add in each bowl: 1 grated apple, 1/2 c plain yogurt, 1 TBSP each lemon juice and maple syrup, 1 TBSP each toasted: sliced almonds, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, plus 1c of your favorite in season fruit. TA DA! You’ll be amazed.

IMG_4201 IMG_4202

Incidentally my children haven’t acquired the taste yet, so I combine this with serving up leftover pancake batter. Yes, breakfast is usually a bonanza in our house, even on weekdays! Speaking of my children, see how they are enjoying the new addition to the bedtime routine : hot tub, then bath, fruit, books, bed.

IMG_4048 IMG_4049 IMG_4050B

One thought on “Breakfast and Bathing caps

  1. Good on you guys for going with the gas!! Do you like it?
    Muesli was staple at our Bio – dynamic school!!

Leave a Reply

