Friendship, Ocean, and Chili!

Hosted my first friend in our new house! My friend Jocelyn and her 2 year old son William, (and baby to arrive in a few weeks!) came and stayed over on Tuesday night. I met Jocelyn at the SFU Rowing Club, where she was a Master’s Student in Psychology and I was doing my BSc in Kinesiology… but letters aside, the formative memories of our friendship involve a great many conversations while RUNNING! Training to complete the 1999 Vancouver Marathon Together… she always had the most interesting conversation-starters and questions to ponder… and best of all we crossed the finish together! Now she lives on Cypress Mountain and we share a love of good food, skiing, hiking, and all things to promote good healthy, rich (not in $$!), engaged living!

This week, 15+ years after the start of our friendship (whoa!), our kids frolicked by the ocean together:

IMG_3977 IMG_3975

Jocelyn wanted the recipe for my Lentilly Chili… I often make this as a last-minute dish when I’ve forgotten to soak other legumes overnight… I love lentils! So easy to cook. When she came I had made it in our crock pot. Thought I’d share the recipe with everyone here. The best part is there are no directions, just throw it all in a pot and simmer as long and low as you can… serve with cilantro, yogurt, cheese, or other favorite chili toppings!

IMG_4002\

1c tomato sauce

3/4-1c lentils (I used green but red would be fine too, or even black)

1 28 oz can diced tomatoes (I go organic)

1c grated carrots

1c onion (I process fine so my kids don’t detect it!)

1/2 c. green pepper sliced thin, or other color pepper

2 TBSP apple cider vinegar

1 TBSP chili powder

1.5 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp basil, 1 tsp salt (or to taste)

1-2 c stock (can be vegetable, or even beer!)

1-2 c finely cut squash (I tend to add near end so doesn’t turn into mush)

Other variations: add 2 tsp cumin, dash of cinnamon, 1/2 c pineapple juice, 1 tbsp sugar… this recipe is pretty forgiving to any changes or substitutions!

Leave a Reply

